Skip to content


Welcome to the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal Website.

The Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal is an independent statutory tribunal appointed by the President of the High Court to consider complaints of misconduct against solicitors. The Tribunal consists of 20 solicitor members and 10 lay members. It sits in divisions of three comprising two solicitor members and one lay member.

Where the Tribunal decides that a complaint discloses a ‘prima facie’ (i.e. apparent) case of misconduct by a solicitor, there will be an inquiry, with oral evidence, conducted by the Tribunal in public. The procedures of the Tribunal are regulated by the Solicitors Acts, 1954 to 2011 and also by the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal Rules 2017.

The procedures of the Tribunal are also governed by the Solicitors Disciplinary Rules 2003, which came into operation on 1 March 2003 and, in respect of applications made from 1 January 2017, the Solicitors Disciplinary Rules 2017.

An application to the Tribunal concerning a solicitor may ultimately result in a solicitor being sanctioned by the Tribunal or by the President of the High Court, up to and including the sanction of being suspended from practice for a period or having his/her name struck off the Roll of Solicitors.

Please note that the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal will be processing applications until early October 2019. From then onwards, new applications will be dealt with by the Legal Services Regulatory Authority (LSRA).